Lok Sabha Bypoll Results 2018 Live Updates: Shiv Sena trails in Palghar, NPF leads in Nagaland

The results of the bypolls held to four Lok Sabha seats on May 28 will be declared by the Election Commission today. Early trends show opposition’s win in Kairana with RLD’s Tabassum Hasan leading by over 32,600 votes over BJP’s Mriganka Singh. Meanwhile, in Bhandara-Gondiya seat, the NCP-Congress pact is heading strongly as NCP candidate is leading by 3100 votes. Shiv Sena is trailing in Palghar. The voting was held in Kairana, Bhandara-Gondiya, Nagaland and Palghar Lok Sabha seats. All eyes, however, will be fixed on the Kairana Lok Sabha seat which saw a direct contest between the ruling BJP and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidate. The BJP is looking to avoid a repeat of its loss in Gorakhpur and Phulpur bypolls.

The BJP had lost the two seats after the BSP and SP set aside their political rivalry to fight the elections together. Both seats were won by SP candidates.

Meanwhile, the Palghar seat is poised for a multi-cornered contest between Rajendra Gavit (BJP), Baliram Jadhav (Bhaujan Vikas Aghadi), Shriniwas Wanaga (Shiv Sena) and Damodar Singhda (Congress). The election was necessitated following the death of sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga in January 2018 and the the Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha bypolls were necessitated following the resignation of sitting BJP MP Nana Patole.

Follow Kairana Lok Sabha bypoll results 2018 LIVE

In Nagaland, Lone Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after Neiphiu Rio became CM; his People’s Democratic Alliance, which includes BJP, has fielded Tokheho Yepthomi; Naga People’s Front candidate is C Apok Jamir, who is supported by Congress. Northeast voters tend to go with whoever is in power at the Centre.

Krishna Keshur

I'm a author and admin also an anchor of globle24. providing real news to society.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: